Lee Wiley – Music of Manhattan 1951


Live recordings from 1951 and 1952. Eddie Condon described Wiley as the ‘world’s greatest jazz singer’, but as Lee herself describes it, “This is late-at-night music.” 28 page CD booklet with round table discussion coordinated by Will Friedwald (producer Mitch Miller, Joe Bushkin, George Wein, and pianist Stan Freeman). Booklet contains rare, unpublished photos from her Boston Storyville appearance(music, of which, is incuded on the CD).

-Lee Wiley, vocals
-Buck Clayton/Billy Butterfield, trumpet
-Muggsy Spanier, Cornet
-Joe Bushkin/Howie Anderson/George Wein , piano
-Morty Stuhlmaker/John Green Field/Milt Hinton , bass
-Jo Jones/George Wettling/Barrett Deems, drums
-Jerry Winner, Clarinet
1. Street of Dreams
2. Oh, Look At Me Now
3. Hallelujah
4. Manhattan
5. Manhattan
6. Ghost Of A Chance
7. Sugar
8. I’ve Got A Crush On You
9. Sugar
10. Anytime, Anyday, Anywhere
11. Oh, Look At Me Now
12. Deed I Do
13. That’s For Sure
14. ‘S Wonderful
15. I’ve Got A Crush On You
16. Anytime, Anyday, Anywhere
17. Street Of Dreams
18. Manhattan
19. Deed I Do
20. I’ve Got A Crush On You
21. I’m Comin’ Virginia
22. Down To SteamBoat Tennessee
23. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home